The Regional Universities Forum for Capacity Building in Agriculture (RUFORUM), a consortium of 85 Universities in 36 African countries, in partnership with Mastercard Foundation, Gulu University and Egerton University are implementing an eight year post graduate scholarship program aimed at transforming African agricultural universities and their graduates to better respond to developmental challenges through enhanced application of science, technology, business and innovation for rural agricultural transformation.

The program started in 2016 and will run up to 2024 at Gulu University. The implementing universities for this programme are Gulu University in Uganda and Egerton University in Kenya.

This scholarship opportunity is open to African students of all race, colour, descent and who in particular are economically disadvantaged and those coming from conflict and post-conflict areas of Africa. The applicant has to be in position to qualify for admission into undergraduate and/or postgraduate programs at Gulu University and/or Egerton University as listed above. Students already having a scholarship of any kind are not eligible to benefit this scholarship opportunity anyone with a double scholarship if found will automatically be discontinued[1].

Eligible Programmes

The RUFORUM Technical Committee (RTC) has identified the following priority programs for the academic year 2019/2020 as eligible for application and to be supported.

Gulu University

Masters Programmes:

Master of Science in Food Security and Community Nutrition

Master of Science in Agri-enterprises Development

Master of Science in Animal Production and Marketing

Master of Science in Environmental Science and Natural Resources Management


Egerton University

Masters Programs:

  1. Master of Science in Agri-enterprise Development
  2. Master of Science in Horticulture
  3. Master of Science in Natural Resources Management

This year, Gulu University has admitted 237 students from 19 countries in Africa for this prestigious master’s scholarships.  Uganda has 112, Benin (02), Burundi (05), Cameroon (03), Ghana (06), Kenya (51), Liberia (07), Malawi (04), Lesotho (01), Mozambique (01), Namibia (02), Nigeria (15), Rwanda (04), Somalia (02), South Sudan (08), Sudan (01), Swaziland (03), Tanzania (02), Zambia (01), Zimbabwe (03). Summary is shown below.